Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere!



Go Back   Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere! > Research > Family History General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-19, 10:17
Margaret in Burton's Avatar
Margaret in Burton Margaret in Burton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Posts: 4,641
Default Splitting families on a genealogy program

I want to split my data up into smaller units, say one tree for each grandparent or something. At the moment it’s all on family tree maker, mine and my husbands side all lumped together.
I’ve looked at the possibility of splitting on FTM but it would take me months to delete everyone I didn’t want on it, after making a copy of course.

Can someone recommend a program that makes splitting an easier process? I could easily send a gedcom from FTM to another program.
__________________
Marg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-19, 10:47
Phoenix's Avatar
Phoenix Phoenix is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,296
Default

I use Legacy, and it's easy enough to make a copy with all ancestors, or all descendants of an individual, but it starts to get complicated if you want both, or cousins-by- marriage etc.

It may also depend how many attachments you have to sources. Gedcoms probably won't include everything.
__________________
The chestnuts cast their flambeaux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-19, 14:22
kiterunner's Avatar
kiterunner kiterunner is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 21,332
Default

You should be able to do it from FTM, Marg. I've used it before to create a tree for just one grandparent, and I tried it out again just now to make some instructions on how to do it:

File - Export - choose output format required
Where it says "Individuals to export" choose "Selected individuals"
On "Filter individuals" pop-up,
click on name of grandparent then click "ancestors", then on Ancestors pop-up, choose "Include all parents", "Include all spouses", and "Include ancestors' descendants" and set the number of generations to the max allowed. Then click "OK". Then when it comes back with number of individuals included in filter, click OK again (assuming the number looks about right), then click OK again and it should ask you to give the file a name and create it.
__________________
KiteRunner

Family History News updated 12th May
Staffordshire BMD Indexes 1837-2017 new on ancestry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-19, 15:49
Margaret in Burton's Avatar
Margaret in Burton Margaret in Burton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Posts: 4,641
Default

I did one branch ok, thanks to your instructions Kate but the next two failed due to an unexpected error.
__________________
Marg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-19, 16:05
kiterunner's Avatar
kiterunner kiterunner is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 21,332
Default

Bother.
__________________
KiteRunner

Family History News updated 12th May
Staffordshire BMD Indexes 1837-2017 new on ancestry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-19, 20:53
Janet's Avatar
Janet Janet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Niagara County
Posts: 1,672
Default

Marg, did you try simply quitting FTM and restarting your computer before attempting another export? I suspect it may be an issue of FTM running out of working-storage memory to deal with sorting what you want and don't want in your new tree. Maybe a fresh start would do the trick?
__________________

Janet (Niagara)

MY TIME AND DATE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-19, 21:39
Margaret in Burton's Avatar
Margaret in Burton Margaret in Burton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Posts: 4,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet View Post
Marg, did you try simply quitting FTM and restarting your computer before attempting another export? I suspect it may be an issue of FTM running out of working-storage memory to deal with sorting what you want and don't want in your new tree. Maybe a fresh start would do the trick?
Good idea Janet. I’ll try that tomorrow
__________________
Marg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-19, 22:13
Margaret in Burton's Avatar
Margaret in Burton Margaret in Burton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Posts: 4,641
Default

Decided to look at that tonight. Yes it works. Thank you Janet
__________________
Marg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-19, 02:48
Janet's Avatar
Janet Janet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Niagara County
Posts: 1,672
Default

Yay! I just had a hunch.
__________________

Janet (Niagara)

MY TIME AND DATE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:15.


Hosted by Photon IT

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 PL3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.