Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere!

Go Back   Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere! > Research > Research Questions

Old 16-06-10, 14:10

Question Tracing a birth with just the father's name

Hi

I have been researching my family tree for about seven years. For the most part I have quite a comprehensive tree now. I have, however, hit the obligatory brick walls with some ancestors - and I hope that in time, with a little inspiration, I might surmount these dead ends.

I am wondering if anyone can tell me if there is any precedent for requesting to view the registrar's actual register of births. I ask this question because I know that my Grandfather had an extra marital relationship in WWII and fathered a child. No-one in the family can remember his lady friend's surname - and there's the rub... how do I search for the birth. However, I have been informed that he registered the birth so I'm sure he is listed as the father.

I am sure I have read somewhere that we can request to view the actual register (Halsbury's Law paragraph 505 note 4) - however, the relevant office say I can only do a general search of the indexes. Any advice please!
Old 16-06-10, 14:13
Administrator

Welcome to the forum, sorrilsain

I don't have time to answer now as am just off out of the door, but I'm sure someone will come to your rescue shortly! I just thought I'd say welcome in the mean time

"Something has been filled in that I didn't know was blank" Matthew Broderick WDYTYA? March 2010
Old 16-06-10, 14:17

If you think he registered the birth, the child might be registered under two surnames - ie as illegititmate under mmn and as if legitimate.

Provided the surname isn't Smith! you could search Ancestry births for the relevant period, using your grandfather's surname, then search under the mmn for illegitimate entries.
Old 16-06-10, 17:20