Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere!

Genealogists' Forum - We have branches everywhere! (http://genealogistsforum.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Research Questions (http://genealogistsforum.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Ann grimshaw birth approx 1854/55 ormskirk (http://genealogistsforum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=20749)

Anglosaxon 06-09-14 18:11

Ann grimshaw birth approx 1854/55 ormskirk

Hi , Can anyone help , I am trying to find a definite date or place for my great grandma 4x times Ann Grimshaw formerly Robinson . I know she married William Grimshaw in 1873 at St. Paul's skelmersdale . She is supposed to be 19 then . but her husband is 20 on the marriage certificate . he was born in Glasgow in 1854 , that's why she must have been born around 1855 in ormskirk . I can follow the thread after here , but still trying to establish family . Her farther was james Robinson a tailor by trade I have looked on the parish clerks for skelmersdale , ormskirk and that area but still haven't found her . Problem is there are lots of Robinson around the lathom area near ormskirk . so I am stuck now Any would be gratefully recieved . Thanks qwackers

kiterunner 06-09-14 18:21

I assume this is the family in 1881:
1881 census on ancestry
Court 2, Sandy Lane, Skelmersdale, Lancashire
William Grimshaw Head Mar 27 Coal Miner Scotland
Anne Do Wife Mar 26 Lancashire Ormskirk
Annie Do Daug 4 Scholar Do Wigan
Mary S Do Daug 2 mo do Skelmersdale
Richard Robinson Boarder Unm 18 Coal Miner Do Ormskirk

I bet Richard is Anne's brother.

kiterunner 06-09-14 18:25

So this looks like the Robinson family in 1871, but no Ann:
1871 census on ancestry
No 7 House, Aughton St, Ormskirk, Lancashire
James Robinson Head Mar 46 Tailor Lancashire Bolton
Jane Robinson Wife Mar 46 " Ormskirk
James Robinson Son Unmar 18 Blacksmith " "
Nancy Robinson Daughter " 16 Domestic Servant " "
John Robinson Son 13 Scholar " "
Richard Robinson Son 8 Do " "

Oops, Nancy is Ann, of course!